ANT Forum

Welcome guest, please Login or Register

Reading Cadence Speed

Rank

Total Posts: 3

Joined 2013-03-29

PM

Hello Developers,

I'm a newbie to ANT++ programming and i admit that i do not own any Garmin device at this moment or ANT+ device. I'm currently investing my time in a personal project and i'm looking at a proof of concept. I would like to ask you to see if my goals are possible with ANT+. What i want to know is:

1. Is it possible to calculate cadence speed on a stationary bike with ANT+ and steam that speed in real time to a software application for processing.
2. If that is possible, what is the best device and best way to go about that ?

Ultimately what i need is to be able to read speed from a person cycling and to be able to use that speed for processing on the program.

Thanks.      
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 296

Joined 0

PM

Phi - 25 May 2013 01:40 AM
Hello Developers,

I'm a newbie to ANT++ programming and i admit that i do not own any Garmin device at this moment or ANT+ device. I'm currently investing my time in a personal project and i'm looking at a proof of concept. I would like to ask you to see if my goals are possible with ANT+. What i want to know is:

1. Is it possible to calculate cadence speed on a stationary bike with ANT+ and steam that speed in real time to a software application for processing.
2. If that is possible, what is the best device and best way to go about that ?

Ultimately what i need is to be able to read speed from a person cycling and to be able to use that speed for processing on the program.

Thanks.

Re 1: yes.
Re 2: a speed/cadence sensor, e.g. Garmin GSC10 and of course a display device to pick up the info, e.g. a PC + ANT USB stick or an Android Phone with either onboard ANT support (mostly Sony) or Android 4.x, an USB OTG adapter and an ANT USB stick.