ANT Forum

Welcome guest, please Login or Register

Sample android App that sends a message

Rank

Total Posts: 4

Joined 2014-09-30

PM

Hi everyone,

I'm new to ANT. I am trying to write a simple Android app that sends a simple message to a custom ANT enabled device that has nothing to do with fitness or GPS. I have downloaded the ANT Android SDK and have looked at some sample apps. They all seems to focus on fitness or GPS. I am wondering if there is other sample code around or if anyone can point me to good direction?

Many thanks!

Joanna      
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 129

Joined 2010-11-30

PM

Hi Joanna,

Note that there is both an Android ANT SDK and an Android ANT+ SDK - in this case you want the Android ANT SDK.

In the Samples directory you will find the Acquire Channels Sample with source. This app shows how to acquire channels, configure them, and read/write messages. In this case it is the most basic form of messaging, broadcasting one byte from a master channel and receiving on a slave channel on a different phone. You can open as many channels (master or slave) as are available. A slave will search for a master with the same "channel number". The "Creating ANT Android Applications" document in the SDK provides more details.      
Rank

Total Posts: 4

Joined 2014-09-30

PM

Thanks so much rohan!      
Rank

Total Posts: 7

Joined 2014-10-13

PM

I am also trying to get this going, but ANTware is not picking up any transmissions and etc.

I have a microcontroller with ANT AP2. Currently ANTware picks up transmissions from the device.

I am using these settings:

//Establishing a Channel (Pg. 21 of ANT Message and Protocol 5.1)
 //Unassign Channel, just to be sure

data[0] 0x41//DATA  (Unassign Channel)

data[1] 0x01//DATA  (Channel Number)

ANT_SendPacket(data4);

//Assign Channel (type 0x10, 0x30, or 0x50)

data[0] 0x42//MSG ID (Assign Channel)

data[2] 0x20//DATA  (Channel Type)

data[3] 0x00//DATA  (Network Number)

ANT_SendPacket(data4);