ANT Forum

Welcome guest, please Login or Register

Using ANT as a Beacon technology ?

Rank

Total Posts: 4

Joined 2015-03-17

PM

Hi,
Can ANT/ANT+ technology used for positioning & tracking applications ?But can I use ANT as Beacon/Indoor location tracking applications ?

Most of the current application I see on website are geared towards fitness and I haven't found any application/company using it for tracking/positioning.

I am new to ANT. I know Bluetooth Smart can be used as Beacon. But since ANT/ANT+ is better technology and allows formation of large connected nodes/networks, low power consumptions etc.

I am developer and would like to invest my energy in creating innovation applications in positioning space.

-Roofi

RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 745

Joined 2012-09-14

PM

Hi,

Nothing precludes ANT from being used as a beacon/location tracking technology from a technical standpoint, and it does have it's own unique benefits.

ANT supports proximity pairing and RSSI which can be used to help determine relative distance. ANT "beacons" or master channels are fully bi-directional with every message which reduces latency and ANT master channels automatically organize themselves using isochronous adaptive transmission allowing large topologies to be formed without using large amounts of processing resources or developer effort.

There are certainly companies which use ANT for positioning/beacon like applications, but do not necessarily promote their use of ANT in marketing. Berg Liquor Controls for example uses ANT to manage a liquor control system and manage hundreds of bottles concurrently in a bar setting for example.

There was recently an announcement of deploying ANT in self-forming/self-healing networks as well.

If you wish to find out which companies are using ANT, the ANT+ Members list is indicative of larger companies which do so.

Cheers      
Rank

Total Posts: 4

Joined 2015-03-17

PM