Welcome Guest,Register Now

ANT Forum

Welcome guest, please Login or Register

Ant architecture solution (beginner)

Rank

Total Posts: 2

Joined 2013-01-26

PM

Hello everyone I started studying ANT for a new application in low power wireless. As always at the beginning I got confused and I need some advice:
I have to realize a system composed of small groups formed from a master that controls 6/7 slave. In the same space must coexist about 5/6 groups for a total of 36slave and 6 master. I Thought to assign each group a given radio frequency.
The transmission between the various devices in a group occurs at a low frequency (2/4Hz). Occasionally, however, I have to communicate with only one of the slave devices at relatively high speed (25/30Hz) for 20/30 seconds. I could use burstmode but I read that using burstmode message for long time may cause loss of synchronization for the other channels. I also thought to use an hub with 8 channels for master and dedicate one channel to each slave, but doing so I use all available frequencies ....
Any ANT expert can help me to find the right solution      
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 745

Joined 2012-09-14

PM

Hi,

In your topology of around 5-6 slaves to each master, you could use a shared channel where 1 master controls the communication to many slaves if you need to conserve individual ANT channels, but typical ANT channel topologies work significantly differently from other comparable protocols, in ANT typically the master is the device which needs to broadcast and the slave is the device which needs to collect data.

So in your case it would likely be easier to reverse the topology and have your slaves become masters and vice versa. This way your peripheral nodes can decide the rate at which they would like to transmit, and there are 8 individual channels on each device, so your central nodes could easily just use those to receive from the 5-6 peripheral nodes.